Meditatio,June 13, 2011

Frequently a director may ask a directee   “What is it that you want from your God?”  This is what I want …to live, be, and be aware that I am in the Holy Spirit, in unfeigned love, in truthful speech, and in the power of God.   The be aware part is the most difficult piece of this desire for it requires that I continue to surrender my attention and focus into an awareness that is always available to me but not pushy or demanding in any way.   God grant me the grace to want to be aware and to continue to choose to be with You in this way.  Thank you for the gift of the Holy Spirit as sustainer of my relationship with You.

The directive to offer no resistance to evil is not saying to submit to evil but rather not to ostracize the one which is evil.   We have nothing to fear from evil because our God is greater than all evil.  We must, however, not lean into our own strength when we encounter evil but rely fully on the grace of God.  I cannot overcome evil on my own.  I have no power except the power of God.  If I follow the example of my God incarnate then the task set before me is to love the one who is evil back into life by forgiveness and support of a change of heart.  Love is an almost irresistible force and God is pure love.  The reason that saints encounter such profound evil is that evil is drawn to love.  All creatures resonate at a survival level with the need for love.  It is an integral part of who we all are.  Those who love profoundly are a challenge to evil simply by being.   Love does not fear hate and hate is one of evil’s strong arm tools.  So accept the one who represents evil in your world and surrender into God’s power which is often yielded rather than wielded.  Do not try to control evil but allow love to transform evil.  This is what I hear in this gospel and my prayer is that I accept the grace you offer so freely when I encounter this situation to allow this process that is beyond my understanding much less my control.

About angelnvj1287

Just another voice... a sister who delights in writing and storytelling, and allowing the words of others to converse with my experience and give depth, texture, and color to my understanding of Life, Love, Hope, and Faith.
This entry was posted in Meditatio...what does it say to you now and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment